Toronado Talk about the Oldsmobile Toronado within...

1985 Toronado

Search this Thread

Old 01-28-2007, 01:37 AM

I've been driving this car since 1986. It has 108K on it.

Last year, it got caught in a hail storm that ruined the original vinyl top. The insurance company TOTALED it and sold it back to me for $1. It now carries a salvage title, even though, it has never been wrecked.

The car value is about $700 for tax value in North Carolina, where I live.

In December, the transmission died suddenly in traffic. The rebuild was going to cost me over $1600. I shopped around for another car, but couldnt find anything I liked for around $3K.

Relatives kept telling me to junk it and buy something new. I dont want a new car. I like this one, so, I bit the bullet and had the tranny rebuilt. Its the THM-325-R4 with lock-up torque converter.

The builder warned me up-front about a clutch-drum problem that these trannys were famous for, and included the replacement of 2 assemblies in the estimate.

He also told me that since I changed the tranny fluid and filter about every 25K, I got about 25K of extra life since many of these units died at about 80-90K.

My tranny died after I put a can of seal rejuvinator in the fluid. This was a last-ditch attempt to stop some major leaking seal problems.

The builder said that he had a hard time getting the tranny apart as the seals had swelled up so tightly. The 2 major clutch paks and drums were cracked, and the overdrive clutch assembly was missing some teeth, and was cracked also.

All in all, with the added cost, I got away with a $1700 bill.

Now, for the driving:

I am now glad that I spent the money and got it fixed. I had no idea that the tranny was making so much noise before... I just thought it was shifting a bit more rough than I had noticed in the past... The new tranny shifts strong, and stays in lock-up now. Before, I could just touch the gas pedal, and it would jump out of lock-up.