Aurora Talk about the Oldsmobile Aurora within...

It’s dead...what do I do now?

Search this Thread

Old 09-15-2007, 12:37 AM

< =>
<!--
var SymRealOnLoad;
var SymReal;

Sym()
{
window.open = SymWinOpen;
if(SymReal != null)
SymReal();
}

SymOnLoad()
{
if(SymRealOnLoad != null)
SymRealOnLoad();
window.open = SymRealWinOpen;
SymReal = window.;
window. = Sym;
}

SymRealOnLoad = window.onload;
window.onload = SymOnLoad;

//-->
</>
Hello. My daughter and her boyfriend abused the 1995 Aurora I bought them, and now it's DEAD! Had radiator problems they ignored, and I'm sure the engine gasket was blown. Now the timeing belt went, and I think it needs a proper burial.

Someone suggested I just put a new engine in, but frankly, I don't have the money to do that and given the problems it's had, I'm not sure it's worth it. Any suggestions? I've no experience with this. Does the car have any value for parts? What should I do? Just have someone haul it away, or can I sell it for parts? If I sell it, what should I ask for? Should I just call a junk-yard? I'd like to get something for it if possible.

Thanks in advance!

Old 09-15-2007, 05:33 PM
Super Moderator

QUESTIONS TO ASK YOURSELF?? WHAT PARTS ARE LEFT ? WHAT CONDITION ARE THESE PARTS ?? HOW MUCH TIME DO I HAVE TO GIVE TO THE REMOVAL OF THESE PARTS AND HOW DO I SHIP THEM?? WHO CAN I SELL THEM TO QUICKLY?? WHAT WILL A HAUL OFF GUY GIVE ME FOR THE CAR AS IS?? AND MOST IMPORTANTLY HOW LONG DO I WANT TO BEAT MY DAUGHTER AND BOYFRIEND FOR DESTROYING AN ABSOLUTELY GREAT CAR??????? YOUR CALL..

Old 09-15-2007, 06:26 PM

I thoroughly agree on the "Beat them up" idea. And here's the kicker. I got them the car for only $900.00, and gave them another $1000.00 toput into it! Oh...I also paid a couple 'hundred to replace the radiator at one point. I guess it was a case of "easy come easy go" for them. Lesson learned!