New Member Area Are you new?? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride...

Buying first olds

Search this Thread

Old 12-13-2010, 08:54 PM
Default Buying first olds

Hey all, I'm a noob here. Buying my first olds tomorrow. Its a '95 cutlass supreme w/ 128k on the 3.1 engine. I currently drive a super duty but, the mpg is killing me so needed a cheap car that gets good mpgs. Haven't seen or drove the car yet. What are some things to look for? The seller claims everything works and that it runs great. What kind of mpg in town and highway can I expect? Should I be able to get 200k miles out of the car without any major probs?

Thanks all,

Kyle

Old 12-15-2010, 06:49 AM

Must be a dead forum....

Old 12-16-2010, 08:58 PM
Super Moderator

I had a 95 just like the one you are getting. I traded it in with 188K on it. I put a rebuilt trans in it at 130K or so, other than that, it never had any major maintenance. It was still running great when I got rid of it.

Old 12-17-2010, 08:14 AM

What about your mpgs? I have read numbers that say around 20 in town and 30 highway? Are these accurate figures? In the spring when it warms up I plan to give the car a full tune up and change all the fluids. I know the last owners were an elderly couple so I'm sure the car has been babied most of its life.

Old 12-18-2010, 10:52 PM
Super Moderator

Those number might be a little high, but not much. I didn't accurately measure my mileage, but it should be pretty close to them.

Old 01-02-2011, 08:55 PM

Hi Kyle,

I joined this site just to answer your post!

I own a ’95 Cutlass Supreme SL 3.1. I love it. I bought it over 7 years ago with about 110K on it. It now has 197,500 on it. Up until recently, I never had any big trouble with it. Two weeks ago (after some head scratching) I figured out I had a bad intake gasket. I fixed it myself with some knowledgeable friends giving me advice along the way. It wasn’t too bad of a fix.