Alero Talk about the Oldsmobile Alero within...

Overheating, Misfires & A/C issues

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2007, 12:53 PM

I have a 2001 Alero 2.4 with a little over 113k miles and when i drive it without the A/C on the temperature gauge tends to increase above the halfway mark making me a little nervous. Ive noticed that my fans are not coming on to cool it down. However, when Im using my a/c it stays a little below the halfway mark. Any idea as to what the issue is?

2. When my car is idling I have an issue with it misfiring. It can be described as hiccups I guess. When in motion I have no issues but when i come to a complete stop...here comes the hiccups. The sounds made can be heard from the exhaust as well.

3. My air conditioning only works when on high. If i turn the switch on any other level I can hear the compressor kick on but nothing blows until on high. Any idea whats going on with this?

Im a 22yr old college student who is trying to get things done in a very cost efficient way. Ive been going through the different threads and the advise here is just amazing. I wanted to get in on it.

Thanks,

Nick

Old 10-18-2007, 02:01 PM
Super Moderator

1. How far above halfway? As long as it doesn't go into the red, it is probably ok. My Alero with the 3.4 runs 2 needle widths above half all the time. When the A/C is on, I think one fan runs most of the time, because of the extra load on the engine. The other fan should turn on when the temp gets high (around 3/4 of the way up).

2. Do you have a check engine light on? The computer should detect a misfire and set a code. How old are your spark plugs and wires? They are not very expensive, and you could probably change them yourself. Mine had a misfire, new plugs and wires fixed it.